Tags

, , ,

These are lyrics to a song that speaks of my addictions, and my sins, and my confessions and my pleading to be clean and free. This song is not recorded and often when I play coffee houses’ they frown on ‘religiousness’ or some such crap as that, I don’t care, this prayer/song lifts the eyes of those in the program that happen to be in the coffee shop. I have had men and women thank me, not for the talent, but for saying what they are thinking 27-7 in their struggle to be clean, free, forgiven. I am blessed to be able to speak these things for them as well as for me. I only wish I could place the sound here for those who would benefit from the music, but, until such time as I have the money and knowledge to upgrade to a ‘music friendly theme’, may this suffice for you friend.

Take me to the river / and lead me in
Into the water / wash away my sin
How Long, Oh Lord, How Long
How Long Lord, before I’m clean?
My bodies weak /and filled with pain
Don’t want the devil /moving in again
How Long, Oh Lord, How Long
How Long Lord, before I’m clean?

No one understands me / No one but you
You hang on the cross / paid the price for my blues
How Long, Oh Lord, How Long
How Long Lord, before I’m clean?

Fill me with the spirit / give me words to sing
Fill me with the music / to find you again
How Long, Oh Lord, How Long
How Long Lord, before I’m clean?

Father oh father / where have you gone
I’m driftin on the ocean / trapped in the calms
How Long, Oh Lord, How Long
How Long Lord, before I’m clean?

Take me to the river / and lead me in
Into the water / wash away my sin
How Long, Oh Lord, How Long
How Long Lord, before I’m clean?

 

 

