My dad
how I wish I knew him
He left long a ago
No choice
all the cards were face down

I played
rules of my own

My mom
Carried such a burden
16, I ran away from home
She still
comes to hear my music
How long
Mother how long

So the cross I bear
Here on my arm
Bridges heaven and earth (repeat)

Oh God how old would she be now
If you hadn’t called her home
Boy friends and girl friends a calling
Please Regina, don’t tie up the phone 

My sons many years between ya
One love cherish what you hold
Your mom a tie to always bind you
Even when this song is played no more

So the cross I bear
Here on my arm
Bridges heaven and earth (repeat)

I hurt
in turn I hurt some others
I can’t undo all the wrong
Regrets I wrap in my confession
I feel His spirit in my home

So the cross I bear
Here on my arm
Bridges heaven and earth (repeat)

