I’m not the saddest man
In the world today
I’m not the most depressed
I am not the loneliest
I’m just the least among the best

If it’s not me
who could it be
If it’s not me
who then could it be

I call His name
He does not call on me
I see birds of spring in flight
I’m staked to the ground

I hear of golden avenues
a place there is no pain
I am on the outside
Looking in again

If it’s not me
who could it be
If it’s not me
who then could it be

ink illustration
canvas is my skin
moved to demonstration
something moving again

patience on my left
devotion on my right
why oh high creator
must everyday be a fight

If it’s not me
who could it be
If it’s not me
who then could it be

another pattern
the same lame melody
still the wayward teen
even here in my mid 60’s

in and out the door
queen kiss’ my cheek goodby
variety is the devil
don’t even try

If it’s not me
who could it be
If it’s not me
who then could it be

holiday approach
like a neck chain it chokes
it’s Easter and Passover
today, tomorrow and yesterday

I know man behind hard bars
I leave loud bars full of fools
using each other
cruising on this ship of fools

If it’s not me
who could it be
If it’s not me
who then could it be

hyper focus diagnosis
a trip or a disease
medicate or meditate
which pill is right for me

I’m not the saddest man today
I’m not the most depressed
I’m not the loneliest
just the least among the best

If it’s not me
who could it be
If it’s not me
who then could it be

