Strength tempered with gentleness
this is my prayer this morning father
this is my open confession
this is my struggle for peace
but this struggle is not mine alone
to you God be the glory through Christ Jesus
i have nothing new or original to say/pray
i am but one in and endless line of souls
separated and struggling with and for redemption

Jealousy is worst than anger oh Lord
this i have learned from you, the book, the Word
i know this but it’s still hard to swallow
so it is jealousy i fight–i feel
jealousy hardens my heart
jealousy leads to anger repressed
that leads to stomach aches, sleepless nights
to heart aches and words of anger
pride consumes me in jealousy’s name
over space, stuff
i seem to covet that which is but a gift to me
i am not humble enough myself
yet i pounce on what i think is others un-gratefulness

it’s been said that I have spent my entire adult/musical life waiting for someone else to propel me, to lift me, to get me some success. i’ve offered my gifts, my talents to others to promote and sell. Now i see what she, wisdom, has tried to tell me. Sit, contemplate, pray, search my soul because all of my sins and jealousies, they are here at my door, in my room, in my house assaulting me, overwhelming me.

In you Lord i find the truth, the way, the means, the strength, the courage and the right to set those sins packing, even in the face of them who challenge me.

You are my supply
You are my knowledge
i pray Jesus that you would impart holy wisdom in me
wisdom to use the gifts you’ve given me wisely
with strength tempered with gentleness

Strength tempered with gentleness
this is my prayer this morning father
this is my open confession
this is my struggle for peace
this struggle is not mine alone
yet there is no real comfort there

i have nothing new or original to say/pray
i am but one in and endless line of souls
separated and struggling with and for redemption
to you God be the glory
through Christ Jesus………………………………Amen

